Jaimie Branch announces new album, FLY or DIE II: bird dogs of paradise

Jaimie Branch - FLY or DIE II: bird dogs of paradise

New York-based composer, trumpeter, and (now) singer Jaimie Branch returns with a new album, FLY or DIE II: bird dogs of paradise.

Recorded in London at Total Refreshment Centre and Cafe Oto the record features Lester St Louis (cello), Jason Ajemian (bass), Chad Taylor (drums, mbira) with contributions from Ben LaMar Gay (voice) Marvin Tate (voice) and Dan Bitney (synths, percussion).

Tapping into themes of racism and injustices currently in America, the album is the result of a never-satisfied artist pushing her distinct style of progressive composition to new heights — while also stepping forward as a vocalist for the first time.

FLY or DIE II: bird dogs of paradise follows her 2017 album Fly or Die, as well as last years collaborative record with Jason Nazary.

Listen to the first excerpt ‘prayer for amerikkka pt 1 & 2’, a ruthlessly honest cut that hits home with Branch calling out “a bunch of wide-eyed racists” amidst masterful trumpet blowing and pounding percussion.

FLY or DIE II: bird dogs of paradise arrives on 11th October. Head here to pre-order the LP and check out the artwork and tracklisting below.

Jamie Branch - FLY or DIE II: bird dogs of paradise



1. birds of paradise
2. prayer for amerikkka pt. 1 & 2
3.l esterlude
4. twenty-three n me, jupiter redux
5. whales
6. simple silver surfer
7. bird dogs of paradise
8. nuevo roquero estéreo
9. love song


CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply