GoGo Penguin announces new EP Ocean in a Drop: Music for Film

New music from GoGo Penguin.

Manchester based band Go Go Penguin consists of pianist Chris Illingworth, bassist Nick Blacka, and drummer Rob Turner. The musical trio has released music on Gondwana Records and legendary label Blue Note Records who will drop their new EP. The title of the new five-track project is Ocean in a Drop: Music for Film. 

The EP draws inspiration from the bands renowned live soundtrack for Godfrey Reggio’s 1982 cult doc Koyaanisqatsi – the trio has performed their score for the film all over the world.

Speaking about the inspiration for the recording, Illingworth explains “People kept asking if we’d release the music as an album, but that didn’t feel right to us. The film has a great score already, but we really enjoyed the project and specifically writing music for film, so that provided the inspiration for Ocean in a Drop. The electrifying intensity of GGP’s live performance has translated to this record too. Performing the soundtrack live is hugely demanding, both physically and mentally, and the recording was no different,” he continues. “We recorded the tracks together live like we have with our previous recordings, not overdubbing and layering individual parts together.”

Just under four minutes of joy is what you will encounter with the lead track ‘Time-Lapse City’. The rest of the EP is just as brilliant, so head here and grab a copy.

GGP continues to breath new life into contemporary jazz.



1. Time-Lapse City

2. Control Shift

3. Four Corners

4. Ocean in a Drop

5. Nessus

Ocean in a Drop: Music for Film arrives on 04/10 via Blue Note Records. Pre-order here.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply