Mr Bongo announces new compilation from Luke Una, É Soul Cultura

Photo by James Measom.

Mr Bongo is releasing a new compilation by Luke Una, called É Soul Cultura, on 6th May.

Under the banner of “E-Soul Cultura”, featuring tracks from Yusef Lateef, Airto Moreira, Crooked Man, Typesun, Henri Texier, and many more, Una brings together new, old, rare and under-discovered music from around the world.

The 15-track compilation is a masterful mixture of exotic tear-jerkers, Afro-spiritual jazz, cosmic Brazilian celestial grooves, machine street soul, lost B-sides, £1 bargain-bin bombs, hidden gems, sweet vocals from heaven, and much more.

With a DJ career that began in the mid-’80s, he has a vast knowledge of music, and if you’ve listened to his Friday evening show on Worldwide FM, you know his taste is impeccable.

Leading the way is King Errisson’s 1978 tune Space Queen which you can stream below. As a teaser for the upcoming comp, this sublime piece of disco-funk sets up the release nicely, but then we’d expect nothing less from Una.

Pre-order the ‘E-Soul Cultura’ LP here.

E-Soul Cultura Tracklisting:

1. Robson Jorge & Lincoln Olivetti – Eva
2. Chêne noir – Le Train
3. Metropolis – Every Time I See Him
4. The Brand New Heavies Featuring N’Dea Davenport – Stay This Way (The Lunar Dub)
5. Typesun – The P.L. (Extended Edit)
6. King Errisson – Space Queen
7. Yusef Lateef – Robot Man
8. Daniel Humair, François Jeanneau, Henri Texier – Le Cyclope
9. Airto Moreira – O Galho Da Roseira (The Branches Of The Rose Tree)
10. Francisco – Waché
11. Nar’Chiveol – Apocalypse Now Ho
12. On – Southern Freeez
13. Soylent Green – After All
14. Crooked Man – B&E

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply