London based jazz drummer Jas Kayser announces debut album 

Photo by Fabrice Bourgelle

New track ‘Darkness In The Light’ from Jas Kayser. Alongside her talented friends, she creates an expansive sound but maintains a sense of gentle intimacy. With a mix of energetic drums, hypnotic percussion, and steady bass. Plus soaring saxophone and trumpet, slick guitar work and lush vocals. It’s a sound that is as ruminating as it is danceable.

Dropping on 15th April via Jazz re:freshed her upcoming album JAS 5IVE is the newest addition to the London labels iconic 5ive series.

JAS 5IVE offers a sincere and candid reflection on themes of identity, self-discovery, and family and navigates deep questions, from Jas’s upbringing to her travels abroad.

“Making this record took me on a path of reflection”, explains Kayser. “The goal was to reflect on my life experiences socially and culturally as well as musically. With music I have been able to travel which has helped me to learn about myself. It’s been an awakening for me. Thinking, what is culture? What is the musical connection? And the importance to feel recognised and accepted for being you.”

On the album is Jas Kayser (drums), Joao Caetano (percussion), Daisy George (upright bass), Jamie Leeming (electric guitar), Christos Stylianides (trumpet), Mark Hurrell (tenor saxophone), Giacomo Smith (alto saxophone/co-producer), Ava Joseph (vocals) and Ash Kayser A.K.A Aalvk (spoken word).

Get it on Bandcamp; it’s the healing balm you’ve been looking for.

JAS FIVE Tracklisting:

1. Darkness In The Light featuring Ava Joseph And Giacomo Smith
2. Dream
3. Jamie’s Blues
4. Half-Race Face featuring Aalvk
5. Stupid On The Beat Instrumental

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply