Underground futurism meets ancient East African rhythms on Alai K’s debut LP

Alai K has shared a new single,’Mganga’. A celestial mix of East-African samples and its frenetic percussions, the new track is taken from his upcoming album Kila Mara.

The 10-track album is due for release on 31 January and sees Alai K blending house and techno with ancient East African rhythms. The album, due out via On The Corner Records, follows the label’s release of Uffe’s Words and Endings LP last month.

Listen to Mganga below and pre-order Kila Mara from Bandcamp.


1. Kinyago

2. Mganga

3. Watu

4. Leo

5. Ishakua Tabu

6. I Wanna Dance

7. Cheza Imba Ruka

8. We Ukipita

9. Ee Mola

10. Mudzini

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply