Aloha Got Soul reissuing Arthur Lyman’s 1980 LP Island Vibes 


More on point, music digging from Hawaiian label Aloha Got Soul

Heading back to the 80’s the labels next release is a lost gem from the exotica pioneer Arthur Lyman. 

Merging the sounds of nature with his resounding vibraphone, Lyman and producer Gordon Broad created Island Vibes. This ambient/jazz/field recording album exhibits the pure weightlessness of Lyman’s music. 

The nine-track record would become Lyman’s final recorded album, and the label describes the LP as “an embodiment of the term of “relaxationrelying solely on Lyman’s instrumentation and the quaint lull of ocean waves to produce a picturesque atmosphere.”

Marking its first return to vinyl in over forty years, engineer Jessica Thompson restored and remastered the record using three audio sources a 1/2″ reference tape, a sealed retail cassette tape, and a near mint vinyl copy. 

Pre-order Island Vibes here and get a taste below.


1. ‘Imi Au Ia’ Oe (King’s Serenade)

2. Waipi’o

3. Old Plantation (Ku’u Home)

4. Medley: Pua Mana (Sea Breeze) / Paoa Kalani / Whispering Reef

5. The Magic Islands

6. Akaka Falls

7. Shells

8. Hana

9. Medley: Manu ‘O‘o / Yellow Bird

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply