Gondwana Records announces self-titled debut LP from, Paradise Cinema

Gondwana Records is releasing the self-titled debut album by Paradise Cinema, this October.

Paradise Cinema is a new project from multi-instrumentalist Jack Wyllie (Portico Quartet/Szun Waves) in collaboration with percussionists Khadim Mbaye on saba drums, and Tons Sambe on tama drums.

Recorded in Dakar, Senegal the album finds Wyllie exploring hypnagogic sensations and hauntology – “a philosophical concept originating in the work of French philosopher Jacques Derrida – on possible futures that were never realised and how directions taken in the past can haunt the present.”

Speaking about the dream-like quality of the album, Wyllie explains: “I had a lot of nights in Dakar, when the music around the city would go on until 6am. I could hear this from my bed at night and it all blended together, in what felt like an early version of the record.”

Setting the tone for the record’s themes is the optimism-driven, balmy beauty of the opening track ‘Possible Futures’, where rich-toned drums throb and levitate in a stratospheric ether.

Head here for more info in advance of Paradise Cinema’s 9th of October release, check out the artwork and tracklisting below.


1.Possible Futures
2. It Will Be Summer Soon
3. Casamance
4. Utopia
5. Liberté
6. Digital Palm
7. Paradise Cinema
8. Eternal Spring

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply