Mammal Hands share two tracks from their upcoming new album, Captured Spirits

Making a more than welcome return Mammal Hands gift us with two new tracks both taken from their forthcoming album ‘Captured Spirits’.

Watch the visual for the Homers Odyssey inspired album opener ‘Ithaca’ above and listen to the closing track Little One below.

Mammal Hands is made up of Nick Smart piano, Jesse Barrett drums and tabla, and Jordan Smart saxophones.

Speaking of the writing process, Nick explains ‘Ithaca’. “The piano part was something I used to play in soundchecks on tour, and we would jam about with, but it really came into its own when Jordan started learning bass clarinet, and the two seemed to match together nicely.” ‘Little One’ has a more personal tone to it further explained by Nick:

“This was the first tune we wrote for the album that came around not long after Jesse’s daughter was born. The title was meant as a little dedication to her, and it’s supposed to be a super calm and sparkly tune to finish off the album.”

‘Captured Spirits’ follows their 2017 LP, Shadow Work.

Head here to pre-order a copy in advance of ‘Captured Spirits’ 11th September release, check out the artwork and tracklisting below.


1. Ithaca
2. Chaser
3. Late Bloomer
4. Versus Shapes
5. Spiral Stair
6. Floating World
7. Riddle
8. Rhizome
9. Shoreless
10. Into Sparks
11. Little One


Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent.

Leave a Reply