Sélène Saint-Aimé announces debut LP, Mare Undarum

Selene Saint-Aime set to release debut album.

Paris-based contrabassist, singer and composer Sélène Saint-Aimé is releasing a new album, titled Mare Undarum, this August.

The album title means “the sea of waves”, the name given to a lunar pool. It is also a reference to the artist’s first name, Sélène, who was the goddess of the full moon in Greek mythology. 

The eight-song album tells the story of Sélène’s own life. Speaking about the autobiographical project, she says: 

” I associate it with lunar craters and given moments of my life. A crater constitutes a physical impact and certain moments of our existence act like that too. These events trigger sounds, notes, vibrations, images and words deep inside.” 

Recorded and mixed at the Studio Pigalle in Paris, by Félix Rémi the LP combines six original compositions by Sélène with three “re-compositions” of works by Steve Coleman, Villa Lobos and Mussorgsky.

Listen to Mare Undarum Part II, the first taste from the album. Magical in all sense of the word, this is the perfect way to introduce the upcoming record. 

Enjoy below!


1. Mare Undarum Part I
2. Feuillée & Beer
3. Paene Umbra : Chez Rosa B.
4. Valsa-Chôro
5. The Rings Of Neptune
6. Mare Undarum Part II
7. Partialis
8. Totalis
9. Cum Mortuis in Lingua Mortua

Mare Undarum is out on 16th August. Pre-order from Bandcamp.


CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply