Shirley Scott’s One For Me LP reissued on Arc Records

Gilles Peterson’s Arc Records reissues Shirley Scott’s One For Me.

After releasing Tino Contera’s 1978 EP Musica Infinita earlier this year, Gilles Peterson’s Arc Records has returned with their next offering.

The label’s second release will be a reissue of Shirley Scott’s 1975 album One For Me.

As the album title suggests, One For Me is a very personal album – a defiant tribute to the music she always desired to create but was shrouded by the demands of her vibrant career.

“All of the music recorded in this album is both personal and very purposeful to me, because it is the first step toward honesty about what and how I want to play. I’ve done a lot of other albums, a lot of different ways for a lot of different people and now, with the help of the Creator, in whom all things are possible, I have done one for me too.” Shirley Scott

Recorded at Blue Rock Studio in November 1974 with tenor saxophonist Harold Vick and drummer Billy Higgins and released initially on Strata-East Records, in January 1975, this timeless piece of jazz history will be available to enjoy again on 22nd May.

Shirley Scott ‎– One For Me.



A1. What Makes Harold Sing?
A2. Keep On Movin’ On

B1. Do You Know A Good Thing When You See One?
B2. Big George
B3. Don’t Look Back

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply