Composer and musician Okkyung Lee set to release new album, Yeo​-​Neun via Shelter Press

New music from cellist and composer Okkyung Lee.
Photo by Nigel Bates

After releasing a collaborative live album with Ellen Fullman last year, Okkyung Lee has returned with a solo effort. The cellist and composer will unveil new album Yeo​-​Neun, via Shelter Press this May.

In a press release, the label explains that the title “loosely translates to the gesture of an opening in Korean, presenting window into the poetic multiplicity that rests at the album’s core.

The album 10-song album was recorded with the Yeo-Neun Quartet, an experimental chamber music ensemble founded in 2106 by Lee, featuring Maeve Gilchrist (harp), Jacob Sacks (piano), and Eivynd Opsvik (bass).

In addition to the eerie and devasting lead track ‘in stardust (for kang kyung-ok)’, which you can hear below, Yeo-Neun also features songs titled ‘the yellow porcelain bird’, “the longest morning” and ‘one bright lazy sunday afternoon (you whispered that name)’.

We can’t wait to hear the rest of this record, so far, it sounds wonderful!


1. here we are (once again)
2. the yellow porcelain bird
3. another old story (옛날이야기)
4. in stardust (for kang kyung-ok)
5. eternally (미련없이)
6. uiro (up and up and up)
7. the longest morning
8. one bright lazy sunday afternoon (you whispered that name)
9. facing your shadows
10. then, there (그때 그자리)

Yeo-Neun arrives on 08/05 via Shelter Press. Pre-order from Bandcamp.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply