Taiwainese composer Floating Spectrum unveils debut LP A Point Between

Twistedsoul - Floating Spectrum

Floating Spectrum is the project of Berlin-based composer and audio technologist, Mei-Fang Liau.

Her debut album, A Point Between was crafted from a combination of synthesisers, everyday household objects, and unique software synthesisers called Polyphylla which Liau made by herself.

According to the press release, the 7-track LP was inspired by a dance performance for which Liau created audio works that explored the recurring cycles of nature. Two tracks from the performance shape the roots for what would become her debut album.

Serving as a snapshot to the upcoming album, lead track ‘The early green outburst’ encompasses an unpredictable yet equally calm atmosphere over the near four minutes of its duration.

A Point Between is out 20th September with Temporary Residence. Click here to order a copy, and check out the artwork and tracklist below.

Floating Spectrum - A Point Between.


1. The early green outburst
2. Rising tide, nourishing soil
3. Inner island
4. Falling apart on a dreary field
5. Obscured moon
6. Eruption
7. Descent to the hadal zone

A Point Between arrives on 20/09 via Temporary Residence. Pre-order from Bandcamp.


CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply