International Anthem announces debut album from Angel Bat Dawid

Angel Bat Dawid

Chicago-born recording company International Anthem has been putting out boundary-defying music (check Resavoir‘s recent track) for a few years now, and this debut record from Angel Bat Dawid is another forward-thinking and, excellent release.

The multi-talented artist descended on Chicago’s jazz and improvised music scene just a few years ago, and in a short time, the potency, prowess, spirit and charisma of her cosmic musical proselytising has taken her from relatively unknown improviser to borderline ubiquitous performer in Chicago’s avant-garde.

For her recorded debut album titled, The Oracle, the label has chosen to release a batch of tracks that Angel created entirely alone – performing, overdubbing and mixing all instruments and voices by herself – recorded using only her cell phone in various locations, from London to Cape Town.

Today, we’re showcasing the gorgeous ‘We Are Starzz’ from the upcoming album. Every element of the track, from the soothing vocal harmonies to the entrancing clarinet wonderfully showcases her impeccable skills.

This is so much more than a lot of your average experimental jazz records. It’s a deeply intriguing and enticing place to get lost inside.


1. Destination (Dr. Yusef Lateef)
2. Black Family
3. What Shall I Tell My Children Who Are Black (Dr. Margaret Burroughs)
4. Impepho
5. We Are Starzz
6. London
7. Capetown (feat. Asher Simiso Gamedze)
8. The Oracle


The Oracle by Angel Bat Dawid is out on 09/02 via International Anthem. Pre-order here.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply