Amaro Freitas announces new album Rasif and shares a song

Twistedsoul - Amaro Freitas

Brazilian pianist Amaro Freitas has just announced he will be releasing a new album, Rasif, on 19th October through Far Out Recordings.

The new LP follows his critically acclaimed debut album Sangue Negro (black blood). A love letter to his native northeast, Freitas explores its traditional rhythms through the jazz idiom, employing complex mathematical patterns reminiscent of some of the most challenging works by fellow Brazilian masters Hermeto Pascoal, Egberto Gismonti and Moacir Santos.

“I want to show the simplicity of music, to break the stigma that the piano is for a particular social class. Yes, it’s a difficult instrument, which many people do not have access to, but with it, you can express everything.”

The nine-track album was recorded at Carranca Studio in Recife and features Hugo Medeiros on drums, Jean Elton on double bass, and Henrique Albino on baritone saxophone, flutes and clarinet.

To give us a little taste of what’s to come, Freitas has also shared the vibrant ‘Mantra’, which you can listen to above and check out the tracklist and album artwork.



1. Dona Eni
2. Trupé
3. Paço
4. Rasif
5. Mantra
6. Aurora
7. Vitrais
8. Plenilunio
9. Afrocatu

Rasif is out October 19th – pre-order from Bandcamp.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply