ENEMY (Kit Downes, Petter Eldh, James Maddren) announce new LP ‘The Betrayal’ on We Jazz Records

Helsinki label We Jazz Records has long been a firm favourite of ours. Likewise, we’ve been fans of ENEMY for years. They join forces as the label is set to release the trio’s third album on 22nd September.

ENEMY is the trio of drummer James Maddren, pianist Kit Downes and bassist Petter Eldh.

The explosive yet lyrical trio seeks new directions with their 12-track new album, following their self-titled debut (Edition, 2018) and follow-up (Vermillion, ECM 2022).

The Betrayal consists entirely of Downes and Eldh’s original material. During a single day, the band recorded and edited, produced, and mixed the album of “purposeful contradictions and a shedding of skin”.

In their own words, the band “doesn’t really rehearse, playing a lot live, taking risks, always writing new music, always playing as fresh as possible”, and evolving in the process.

The band is enticing us with the swinging ‘Hollywood Bypass’. Here is it.

Twistedsoul Team

Leave a Reply