Damon Locks and Rob Mazurek announce joint album, New Future City Radio

Photo by Jamie Kelter Davis

Damon Locks and Rob Mazurek are two innovative musicians who have collaborated on numerous projects. Their musical styles range from jazz to electronic to experimental, creating their own sound. ‘New Future City Radio’ marks the duo’s first collaboration album.

Never ones to make a run-of-the-mill album New Future City Radio is an “18-track suite that runs like a boombox mixtape; the two prolific multi-media artists contemplate community, transformation, and the future through the programmatic format of a pirate radio station for the people.” The album features a mix of genres, including hip-hop, electronic, jazz, and spoken word, presented through turntablism, beat collages and sound art. A perfect fit for fans of Public Enemy, Quasimoto, Gil Scott-Heron and Shabazz Palaces.

Ahead of the album’s release, we have the lead single ‘Yes!’, which comes with a vibrant, typographically-charged video collage created by Rob Shaw, who has worked with Locks on several other projects in recent years.

The music has a distinct sound that evokes the legendary Bomb Squad. Locks’ vocals sound like a mellow version of Chuck D. The beat has old and new hip-hop elements, blending the classic Brooklyn boombox sound with the futuristic sci-fi boom-bap of late 90s Def Jux or Dan The Automator’s 75 Ark.

Click the play button and let Locks and Mazurek take you on a journey through music and ideas.


New Future City Radio tracklist:

1. 5-4-3-2-1
2. Yes!
3. The Sun Returns
4. Breeze Of Time
5. Your Name Gonna Ring The Bell
6. New Future
7. Droids!
8. The Concord Hour
9. Future City
10. 10mins Past The Hour
11. Support The Youth (With Sound)
12. The Beat
13. Las Niñas Estan Escuchando (The Children Are Listening)
14. Flitting Splits Reverb Adage
15. Twilight Shimmer
16. Suspense In The Grip Of Suspense
17. Polaris Radio
18. Drop



CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply