Chicago’s Damon Locks – Black Monument Ensemble announce new album & share new single

Announcing the follow-up to 2019’s ‘Where Future Unfolds’, Damon Locks – Black Monument Ensemble have confirmed that their new album ‘NOW’ will be out on 9th April via International Anthem.

Sharing the lead track Now (Forever Momentary Space) to celebrate, Locks says of the album, “It was about offering a new thought. It was about resisting the darkness. It was about expressing possibility. It was about asking the question, ‘Since the future has unfolded and taken a new and dangerous shape…what happens NOW?’”

Founded by Damon Lock as a medium for his sample-based sound collage work, Black Monument Ensemble has evolved into a vibrant collective made up of musicians, singers, and dancers, including Angel Bat Dawid, Ben LaMar Gay, Dana Hall, Arif Smith, Phillip Armstrong, Monique Goldin, and Keisha Janae and more.

Locks also created the album’s stunning artwork, which you can view, alongside the tracklisting, below.

Check out the track above, and if you want to grab the limited edition gold vinyl, head here – but hurry, because there won’t be many left!


1. Now (Forever Momentary Space)
2. The People vs The Rest of Us
3. Keep Your Mind Free
4. Barbara Jones-Hogu and Elizabeth Catlett Discuss Liberation
5. Movement And You
6. The Body Is Electric

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply