Guest Playlist: Insólito UniVerso

Here is a playlist carefully selected by Insólito UniVerso, who have been captivating the ears of daring listeners worldwide with their lovely blend of traditional Venezuelan styles, with psych, chanson, and contemporary electronics.

Insólito Universo is Maria Fernanda Ruette (lead vocals, cuatro), Raúl Monsalve (bass, percussion, vocals) and  Edgar Bonilla Jiménez (keyboards, vocals).

Carry on where their dazzling debut album, ‘La Candela del Río’ left, the trio explores the diverse geography, rhythms and traditions of their home country of Venezuela through their distinctive sound on ‘Ese puerto existe’.

The eight-song record features bassist Manuel Sánchez, percussionist Rafael Mejias, free jazz drummer Francesco Pastacaldi and Lætitia Sadier of Stereolab fame.

In the build-up to the release of their second album, Insólito UniVerso gifts us a playlist of killer tunes. Tonally and stylistically, it encompasses various influences with music from The B-52’s, Emmanuelle Parrenin, The Space Lady, Lucrecia Dalt, Broadcast, Silver Apples and more. Insólito UniVerso music paints a vivid and often multicoloured picture like each track they’ve selected.

Pick up your copy of Insólito Universo’s new LP on Olindo Records Bandcamp.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply