Duval Timothy has announced details of his upcoming album, Meeting with a Judas Tree

So, with good reason, the brilliant but somewhat under-the-radar Duval Timothy has blown up. Earlier this year, he featured as a composer and producer on tracks from Kendrick Lamar’s Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers.

Having impressed us last year with his collaborative album Son with Rosie Lowe, he returns with a new album, Meeting With A Judas Tree.

The music was the product of recording sessions between 2019 and 2022 at various studios in London, Freetown and the Italian city of Spoleto. Recorded on different pianos, be prepared to be taken on a winding journey through jazz, electronic, classical, and field recordings.

“While making this record, I wanted to explore what the natural environment means personally. I went on many trips into nature to engage with plant life and natural materials.”

Duval Timothy

This album’s lead track, Mutate, is a piano-driven song with a rich, expressive sound.

Beautiful work, but that’s not surprising it is Duval Timothy. Get acquainted with more of his music here if you haven’t yet.

Meeting With a Judas Tree Tracklist:

1. Plunge
2. Wood ft. Yu Su
3. Mutate
4. Up
5. Thunder ft. Fauzia
6. Drift ft. Lamin Fofana

Pre-order the album, both digitally and on vinyl, on Bandcamp.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply