Japanese ambient fourth world exotica debut by Tokio Ono

It’s no secret that we love a bit of fourth-world ambience. So we’re happy to get acquainted with the mediative sounds of Yokohama multi-instrumentalist Tokio Ono. Written and performed by Ono and assisted by Victor Leclercq on production, his debut album Individuals is a collection of 13 compositions woven from field recordings, percussion, various keys, samples, and a sense of being “far away.”

With a passion for capturing mistakes and errors and turning them into full compositions, Ono’s patchwork of minimalist rhythms and field recordings speaks to an artist not being afraid to embrace experimentation.

Like some surrogate 4th world travel brochure, Individuals spans a 50-minute map of emerald atolls, shimmering bays, and overcast coasts, equal parts idyllic and uneasy.

Ono offers a stream of five cuts from the upcoming album to whet our appetite. Get ready for 21 minutes of wonderfully hypnotic music that acts as a sonic healing balm for the soul.

Individuals Tracklist:

1. VB12

2. Insular

3. Tendency

4. Mubi (夢寐)

5. Memorandum

6. Individuals

7. miminari

8. Correspondence

9. Escapism

10. Remembrance

11. Home With No Doors

12. Niko

13. Nuages

Individuals will be released on Not Not Fun in early December.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply