Binker Golding, Moses Boyd & Simon Ratcliffe join forces on Gearbox Records collaboration

Saxophonist Binker Golding, drummer Moses Boyd, and electronic music legend Simon Ratcliffe form together Village Of The Sun. On November 4th, Gearbox Records will release the trio’s debut album First Light.

If you’ve been a long-time follower of the site, you may remember we featured the above trackwhen it was released in 2020 on limited edition vinyl.

When we first heard Basement Jaxx’s Ratcliffe had teamed up with Golding and Boyd, we weren’t sure what to expect, but the slow-burning spiritual jazz tinged with Balearic bliss was music to our ears. With Golding’s heavenly sax solos and Boyd’s buzzing drumming, Ratcliffe’s sunkissed electronics and meditative synth melodies are perfectly complemented.

In anticipation of the album, the trio have released an enchanting new spiritual jazz piece bathed in electronica called ‘Tigris’, which we strongly urge you to check out below.

Keep an eye out for the album next month.

First Light Tracklisting:

1. Cesca
2. First Light
3. Village Of The Sun
4. The Spanish Master
5. Tigris
6. Ted

First Light will be released on 4th November.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply