Video: Makaya McCraven unveils new track from upcoming album, In These Times

Chicago-based percussionist and composer Makaya McCraven has shared ‘The Fours’, the latest single from his upcoming album, In These Times, due September 23rd on International Anthem / Nonesuch / XL Recordings. ‘The Fours’ sit somewhere between boom bap and nu-jazz. Ablaze with jittery polyrhythms, looping horns, and swooping harp plucks, the track is hypnotic and engrossing. Ryosuke Tanzawa directed the accompanying video, which you can watch above. You can pre-order In These Times on Cymbal Sheen 160g colour/ black vinyl, CD and digital download here.

In These Times Tracklist:

1. In These Times
2. The Fours
3. High Fives
4. Dream Another
5. Lullaby
6. This Place That Place
7. The Calling
8. Seventh String
9. So Ubuji
10. The Knew Untitled
11. The Title

Benny Toms

Leave a Reply