London-based, Ukrainian-born harpist Alina Bzhezhinska shares two new tracks

Eddie Otchere.

Alina Bzhezhinska and her HipHarpCollective follow up the success of Soul Vibrations with two more tracks from the forthcoming BBE LP ‘Reflections’, released 23rd September. The tracks, ‘Paris Sur Le Toit’ and an amazing cover of the classic ‘Afro Blue’ also come with remixes and instrumentals of ‘Paris Sur Le Toit’ from Sly Johnson and DJ Spinna.

The Ukrainian-born artist is redefining the use of the harp in jazz with contemporary melodies and fresh hip-hop beats, following in the footsteps of the legendary Dorothy Ashby and Alice Coltrane.

The re-imagining of ‘Afro Blue’ features the vocals of Vimala Rowe which combine with harp solos, percussive bass, swinging horns, and drum solos. A jazz and hip-hop delight, ‘Paris Sur La Toit’ features rhymes laid down by SANITY and Tom TheyThem in French and English.

‘Reflections’ is out on 23rd September; you can pre-order it by clicking here.

Reflections Tracklist:

1. ‘Paris Sur Le Toit’
2. ‘Afro Blue’
3. ‘Paris Sur Le Toit’ (DJ Spinna Remix)
4. ‘Paris Sur Le Toit’ (Sly Johnson’s TAGi Remix)
5. ‘Paris Sur Le Toit’ (Instrumental)
6. ‘Paris Sur Le Toit’ (DJ Spinna Remix Instrumental)
7. ‘Paris Sur Le Toit’ (Sly Johnson’s TAGi Remix Instrumental)

Most of the musicians in this album are connected to each other. We’ve been involved in many projects before and we are also good friends.

Alina Bzhezhinska
Leizel Sabando

Leave a Reply