Guohan – Night at the Sky Palace (TS Premiere)

Say hello to Guohan, the Nottingham-by-Ningbo native who’s about to release a brand-new EP called ‘City Of The Sun And Moon’.

Gouhan is a new artist signing to Singapore label Darker Than Wax whose distinctive influences and effortless style were developed in the burgeoning beat scene in southern China.

Taking its cues from Nottingham musical vibrancies, particularly DiY and the late Pete Woosh, the 6-tracker takes the listener on an up-tempo odyssey, while retaining Guohan’s trademark hypnotic style. Across the EP Guohan’s personal journey comes to life through a mix of percussive beats, hazy synths, and collected sound pieces.

We are thrilled to officially premiere the opening cut ‘Night at the Sky Palace’, If you’re unfamiliar with Gouhan, this track is a great starting point if you’ve never heard his beat-heavy sound, with house music and broken beat nods before. Aside from making sublime music, he runs Running Circle Records, a Nottingham-based imprint, and Meridian Sounds, a label based in southern China that promotes subliminal sounds from his homeland.

The ‘City Of The Sun And Moon’ EP drops on 17th June and is now available for pre-order here.

City Of The Sun And Moon Tracklisting:

A1. Night At The Sky Palace
A2. Feeling
A3. Across The Saturn

B1. Cloud Valley South
B2. Misty
B3. Let It Rain (ft. Owen Campbell)

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply