Matthew Bourne announces new album Irrealis 

Matthew Bourne has been very busy lately: collaborating with Keeley Forsyth and Nightports and working on his upcoming prepared piano collection.

It’s not often that you hear stories about would-be pianists teaching themselves the basics of prepared piano by throwing sweets into their school’s instrument, but that’s just what Bourne did; from an early age, he was always adventurous. With Irrealis, his sonic adventures continue, recording the upcoming album in a single session, without any overdubs, only live takes.

In an effort to throw convention out the window, Bourne recorded the album with playfulness and spontaneity, using a box full of nuts, bolts, and Blu-Tak.

Shot at the famous Besbrode Pianos in Leeds, watch the Ross Downes directed visual for ‘Alice’, the first track taken from the album. Lightness and subtlety abound throughout the piece, unfolding with a gentle calmness.

Irrealis will be released on May 27th, digitally and as a limited edition of 750 vinyl LP. Pre-order here.

Irrealis Tracklisting:

A1. Shri
A2. Asaf
A3. Dušan

B1. Jane
B2. Laurent
B3. Alice
B4. Armando

“Irrealis refers to an event that hasn’t occurred, or at least hasn’t yet occurred,” Bourne continues. “I liked the idea that what I’m doing is something of an unreality – the end result is never audible to me at the time.”

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply