Debut from France / UK producer Akusmi on new Tonal Union imprint

Photo by Alex Kozobolis

We don’t want you to start the new day with anything too out there or overly experimental. Of course like with all the music we champion on the site, there must be inspiration and inventiveness in it, and this album, the first release on the new London / Berlin imprint Tonal Union, is both while remaining accessible. Upon first listening, I found the music of French-born, London-based composer, multi-instrumentalist, and producer Pascal Bideau, aka Akusmi, enriching. ‘Fleeting Future’, with its mix of minimalism, cosmic jazz, and Fourth World, is experimental yet approachable. It’s not mainstream, but all the better for that. Just listen to the title track to get a feel of Akusmi’s fascinating sound.

Fleeting Future Tracklisting:

1. Fleeting Future
2. Sarinbuana
3. Divine Moments of Truth
4. Neo Tokyo
5. Longing for Tomorrow
6. Cogito
7. Concrescence
8. Yurikamome

“The future is fascinating: It is constantly readjusting to new events. I feel we left a linear approach to the future to enter an arborescent one where all the data and information we have about what could happen is exponentially ever-growing.”

Akusmi — ‘Fleeting Future’ is released on Tonal Union Records on June 24th. Pre-order here.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply