Vibraphonist Joel Ross to release new album on Blue Note Records

Photo by Lauren Desberg.

Following his 2019 debut, KingMaker and 2020’s Who Are You?, vibraphonist and composer Joel Ross is back with The Parable of the Poet. Once again released by Blue Note, each title of the 7-movement suite references an emotional decision or experience for Ross. 

Across the album, Ross explores new territory with his 8-piece Parables band comprised of Immanuel Wilkins on alto saxophone, Maria Grand on tenor saxophone, Marquis Hill on trumpet, Kalia Vandever on trombone, Sean Mason on piano, Rick Rosato on bass, Craig Weinrib on drums, and Gabrielle Garo on flute.

“This band is more than just the instruments,” says Ross. “Every person on here means something to me. They’re all my friends. Everybody involved committed themselves to the vision.”

PRAYER opens the album, throughout a delicate, restrained backdrop of brass, woodwind, drums, and piano, reside scintillating melodic vibes that gently bounce in and out with complete grace.

Available on double vinyl and CD via the Blue Note storeThe Parable of the Poet looks set to be another first-class release from one of the most promising and innovative jazz musicians of our time.

The Parable of the Poet Tracklisting:





5. THE IMPETUS (To Be And Do Better)

6. DOXOLOGY (Hope)


CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply