Between The Cracks: New Releases & Reissues That Need Your Attention


With so much fantastic music coming through thick and fast, it’s easy for a release to drop online and go overlooked. No lengthy write-ups as who reads those anyway? We keep it short and to the point because you’re here to listen to the music! Check out our weekly mini-guide below and if you like what you hear, click the links and support the artists.


Betamax Vs Clive Bell – Betamax Vs Clive Bell

Known for his work with The Comet is Coming and Soccer96 and his spin-off projects such as Champagne Dub and Coma World revered drummer Betamax, he teams up with his father for an experimental album. A veteran of London’s avant-garde scene, Clive Bell is a renowned woodwind artist who regularly performed with dub legend Jah Wobble. It’s a cross-pollination of jazz, dub, psychedelia, experimental electronics and an assortment of woodwind instruments. Betamax describes it as “The complete 8-step “Father Son Dub’Dub’ connection program”. You’ll want to put the headphones on and turn the volume up for this one!


Hampshire and Foat – The Upturned Glass

The Hampshire & Foat project combines the talents of Warren Hampshire, the multi-instrumentalist from The Bees, and jazz pianist Greg Foat. The album, The Upturned Glass, is their fifth release. Their hometown of Ventnor on the Isle Of Wight inspired the album. Among the music are performances by local musicians and field recordings of birdsong and pub life. This is one of those albums that you can’t help but get swept up in – press play, and you’ll understand what we mean. 


Jamire Williams – But Only After You Have Suffered

Jamire Williams makes a welcome return with the dazzling “But Only After You Have Suffered”. In creating the album, Williams uses modern jazz compositions, beat productions, features from MCs and vocalists, and his unique drumming style to create something as contemporary as an avant-garde art film soundtrack or a classic hip-hop mixtape. The album showcases a variety of styles and results from five years of exploring his own music. A wide range of musical talent features on the album, including site favourites Corey King, Carlos Niño, Chassol Josh Johnson, Sam Gendel, and many others. This is an experimental and bold project, but don’t take our word for it, have a listen and see for yourself.


Nubya Garcia – SOURCE ⧺ WE MOVE

Nubya Garcia reimagines her album “Source” through collaborations with various artists and producers, including; Kaidi Tatham, Nala Sinephro, Dengue Dengue Dengue, Georgia Anne Muldrow, DJ Harrison, and Moses Boyd. While keeping the artistry and jazzy influence found in the originals, the reworked tracks also incorporate a beat-driven, electronic style. It’s rare for us to post remixes of songs, let alone whole albums, so you know that this is something special.


Howie Lee – Birdy Island (Remixes)

A range of top-notch producers reworks Howie Lee’sLee’s haunting and beautiful Birdy Island album! For this reimagined look at his album, Lee teams up with several exciting and innovative artists, including Dengue Dengue Dengue, Prisma, Foodman, Mabe Fratti, and Silvia Kastel & Kup. Love this!


Ross From Friends – Tread

“Tread” is the second studio album from British producer and DJ Felix Clary Weatherall, better known as Ross From Friends. Released on FlyLo’s Brainfeeder label, it is an even more ambitious and intricate work than his 2018 debut, ‘Family Portrait‘, beautifully produced, eminently danceable, infusing touches of nostalgia into its modern design. Top-notch stuff from RFF.


Lone – Always Inside Your Head

Matt Cutler releases his eighth studio album under the name Lone. Taking cues from bands such as Cocteau Twins and MBV, he enriches his existing aesthetic informed by Mo’Wax and Warp acts. This album marks two firsts for Cutler – a new label, Greco-Roman, and the addition of Morgane Diet vocals. We highly recommend you start your weekend with Always Inside Your Head!



Movement In The City – Black Teardrops 

Sharp-Flat Records reissue an absolute cracker; the South Africa Jazz-Funk sounds of Movement In The City from 1981. Having retired the Black Disco name Pops Mohamed founded Movement In The City, whose serene blend of downtempo and atmospheric South African rare grooves can be heard on one of the most cherished records of the As-Shams/The Sun catalogue.


Litto Nebbia – Bazar De Los Milagros

Reissue of Litto Nebbia’s space jazz-folk masterpiece on vinyl for the first time. The combination of floating electric piano, acoustic guitar, female choirs, and moog sounds creates a delicate fusion of sound suitable for a sensitive ear – a fantastic reissue by Vampi Soul.


Elia y Elizabeth – Elia Y Elizabeth 

Colombian sisters Elia and Elizabeth Fleta recorded a handful of songs between 1972 and 1973, accompanied by Jimmy Salcedo and his group La Onda Tres, mixing soft-pop with a touch of tropical-pastoral funk, Caribbean and psychedelia. This album contains arguably their best moment with the sublime anthem “Soy Una Nube”. Elia Y Elizabeth is available on a limited edition (100 copies) splatter colour vinyl.


CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply