New Age Doom collaborate with the late Lee “Scratch” Perry on new album

RIP to The Mighty Upsetter.

Vancouver based experimentalist New Age Doom are releasing a new album called Lee “Scratch” Perry’s Guide To The Universe which will arrive on November 5th via We Are Busy Bodies.

The ten-track album features the late Lee “Scratch” Perry as lead vocalist. You can stream the lead cut ‘Life is an Experiment’ below.

Lee “Scratch” Perry’s Guide To The Universe central themes encompasses experimentation and dreaming, with the duo taking the listener on a sonic trip through a genre-defying blend of drone, jazz, stoner rock, noise and (of course) dub.

Speaking about the passing of the legendary Jamaican singer and music producer the band put out a statement via Facebook:

“Today an angel returned to heaven. The news of Lee “Scratch” Perry’s passing shook us to the core, and our hearts go out to his family, friends and loved ones. He inspired countless musicians and artists throughout his sterling career, and dedicated his later years to spreading the message of living pure, following one’s dreams and standing up for what’s right. Thank you, Lee Scratch Perry (official), for all your lessons. We will do our best to honour your legacy.”

The new LP brings together musicians from the jazz, rock and post-rock scenes including Tim Lefebvre (acoustic bass, electric bass and synth), Cola Wars (synth, keys), Donny McCaslin (sax), Daniel Rosenboom (trumpet), Dahm Majuri Cipolla (drums, gong), The Passenger (synth) and Ryan Dahle (multi-instruments, backing vocals).

We can’t wait to hear the rest of the album, but for now, we’ve got the lead track on rotation. R.I.E.P The Upsetter Lee “Scratch” Perry and thank you for the music!


1. Life Is An Experiment
2. Holy Love
3. Fly In The World!
4. Holy Dub
5. Step In Space
6. Conquer The Sin

Pre-order Lee “Scratch” Perry’s Guide To The Universe here. 

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply