Philly/NYC/DC free jazz collective Irreversible Entanglements announce new album

Irreversible Entanglements announce new album + share new single.

Irreversible Entanglements have announced their third album, Open The Gates. Set for release on International Anthem, the LP will comprise of seven tracks and will see the Philadelphia/NY/DC free jazz collective expanding their sound with electronics and synthesisers.

“Pulling from a wider sonic vocabulary than on previous excursions” reads the press release announcing the album. “The agit-jazz found here is simultaneously pre- and post-apocalypse, as bass lurches in a tranced-out loop, horns are up in the track grooves like poltergeists playing in the streets, poetry cascades like a warrior call at a satsang, the drums both wild and refined pulse with uhuru-heart cadence. This is Irreversible Entanglements on new ground; same as the old ground.”

Alongside the news, the collective has shared the title track, watch the Cyrus Moussavi directed visual above. Moussavi also created the album’s artwork, which you can check out, alongside the tracklist, below.


1. Open The Gates
2. Keys To Creation
4. Lágrimas Del Mar
4. Storm Came Twice
5. Water Meditation
6. Six Sounds
7. The Port Remembers

Open The Gates is out on 21st November via International Anthem.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply