Herbert announces new domestic house series album, Musca

Herbert has announced details of a third domestic house album titled ‘Musca’. released via Accidental Records this October.

The new domestic house LP follows ‘Around The House’ (1998), and ‘Bodily Functions’ (2001).

The first single to be taken from his new album is ‘The Way’ featuring Ghanaian-German singer Y’akoto. Written during the first lockdown, it is the sound of contemplation. Herbert describes it as “a surrender to the intimacy we found ourselves face to face with on a daily basis.”

Born of both intimacy and collaboration, Musca features eight singers, Verushka Grebenar-George, Siân Roseanna, Allie Armstrong, Bianca Rose, Melissa Uye-Parker, Daisy Godfrey, Yakoto Kieck and Joy Morgan – all of whom he has never worked with before or met face to face. It also features musicians Nick Ramm, Tom Herbert, Tom Skinner, Finn Peters, Cevanne Horrocks-Hopayian and Leo Taylor, who, like the singers, all self-recorded and in isolation from each other.

Herbert says: “Like presumably many other albums made during the last year, Musca reflects on navigating the challenges and joys of our most intimate relationships whilst the world is in turmoil. Not just with Covid, but with the rise in state and political violence, facebook-friendly fascism, white supremacy and a climate in crisis.”

Enjoy the single below, it’s brilliant!


  1. Unrestorable
    2. Hypnotized
    3. Be Young
    4. Slip
    5. Let Me Sleep
    6. Tell Me A Secret
    7. The Impossible
    8. Gold Dust
    9. Chain Reaction
    10. The Way
    11. Fantasy
    12. The Horror
    13. Two Doors

Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent.

Leave a Reply