Ishmael Ensemble unveil new album, Visions Of Light

Here’s a great new track to end the day. Ishmael Ensemble has released a new song called ‘Wax Werx’, and it’s simply sublime.

Bristol-based collective led by saxophonist and producer Pete Cunningham shared the song while detailing their forthcoming album Vision Of Light is landing 16th August via Severn Songs.

Following up their critically acclaimed 2019 debut, ‘A State of Flow’, the new record finds them cutting a path between electronic and jazz.

The upcoming record, as the press release, explains, “sees the group reimagine what an ‘ensemble’ can do: expanding into a shifting collective, where human relationships between artists underpin far-ranging, stunningly ambitious and emotionally-heavyweight compositions.”

We can’t wait to hear the rest of the album but in the meantime, listen to ‘Wax Werx’ below. Pre-order here.


1. Intro
2. Feather
3. Wax Werk
4. Soma Centre
5. Empty Hands
6. Looking Glass
7. Morning Chorus
8. Visions Of Light
9. The Gift
10. January

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply