STR4TA aka Gilles Peterson & Bluey announce new album

STR4TA aka Gilles Peterson & Bluey announce new album.

Gilles Peterson and Jean-Paul “Bluey” Maunick have shared a new track.

Titled ‘Rhythm In Your Mind’, it is the second track to be revealed from their forthcoming album ‘Aspects’, following on from last year’s title track. You can watch the animated visual for the new cut below.

The nine-track excursion sees the long-time friends and collaborators, exploring jazz, funk and pop – channelling the loose, protean energy of the early-80s Brit-funk scene.

“The idea of the project was to capture that raw, moment to moment sound,” explains Maunick, drawing a contrast to the touches of refinement he and his peers have acquired in the years since. Recalling his role in the process, Peterson says he was the one making sure things didn’t get too polished. “I was there at the back, telling them, no, leave it like that, cut it there, or just use that first take,” he says.

Brownswood Recordings will release Aspects on 26th March. Pre-order here.


1. Aspects

2. Rhythm In Your Mind

3. Dance Desire

4. We Like It

5. Steppers Crusade

6. After The Rain

7. Give In To What is Real

8. Kinshasa FC

9. Vision 9

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply