Experimental electronics meet jazz and dub on Coma World’s debut LP

Coma World – a new collaborative project by Maxwell Hallett, a.k.a. Betamax (The Comet Is Coming/Soccer96) and Pete Bennie (Speaker’s Corner Quartet) are releasing their self-titled debut album via Byrd Out early next year.

Coma World is inspired by a friend’s recollections of being in a coma, and the result is a spontaneous collection of fifteen tracks with the duo entwining jazz, dub and experimental electronics.

Over three minutes of audio goodness is what you get with ‘No Focus’ the latest taste from the album. Having listened to the rest of the LP, I can confirm it’s just as good, for now, savour the new track below.

The forthcoming LP follows Bryd Out’s release of Disco Vumbi Vol. II by Disco Vumbi.

Pre-order Coma World here ahead of its 5th February release, check out the artwork and tracklisting below.


1. Wipe and Erase – Coma World

2. Megatone 

3. Strangers in the Home 

4. Duty to Die 

5. Thief 

6. Wild Colours 

7. Cream Submarine 

8. Bouncing Bunnies

9. Wake and Fake 

10. Oh My Eyes

11. No Focus 

12. Some Sleep for the Weak 

13. Paranoid Visions of Worm 

14. Oblonge 

15. Mind Grinder 

16. Cream Submarine (Sarmacja Dub)

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply