Brownswood unveils forthcoming South African Jazz compilation 


Photo by Tseliso Monaheng

Brownswood is releasing a new compilation showcasing South African improvised music and jazz titled ‘Indaba Is’ next month.

The 8-track project is a collaboration between pianist/songwriter Thandi Nthuli and The Brother Moves On bandleader Siyabonga Mthembu who act as curators /musical directors on the project.

The compilation aims to capture the eclectic musical styles that developed in South Africa due to migration across the country, subsequently exploring ideas of lineage, community, and spirit, through sound.

Indaba Is features tracks by Ntuli and Mthembu (The Brother Moves On) as well as Bokani Dyer, Lwanda Gogwana, The Wretched, Sibusile Xaba, The Ancestors, and iPhupho.

It follows last month release of Brownswood’s Future Bubblers 4.0 which features up and coming musicians including Forest Law, Lazy H, Kiddus, KinKai, An Alien Called Harmony and more.

Ahead of its 29th January release, you can listen to the opening track ‘Ke Nako’ by Bokani Dyer below. Pre-order here.

South African jazz showcased on new Brownswood compilation.


A1. Bokani Dyer – Ke Nako

A2. The Brother Moves On – Umthandazo Wamagenge

B1. Lwanda Gogwana – All Ok

B2. The Wretched – What is History

C1. Sibusile Xaba with Naftali, Fakazile Nkosi, & AshK – Umdali

C2. The Ancestors – Prelude to Writing Together

D1. Thandi Ntuli – Dikeledi

D2. iPhupho L’ka Biko ft Siyabonga Mthembu & Kinsmen – Abaphezulu

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply