Nick Walters & The Paradox Ensemble – The Underdog

Nick Walters has shared details of a new album with his Paradox Ensemble, titled Implicate Order.

The first release on Walters’ brand new label – D.O.T. Record, the record is preceded by lead track The Underdog, which you can hear below. The album follows last years’ Awakening’ LP.

The swinging track is a tribute to Charles Mingus, inspired by his classic album ‘The Black Saint and the Sinner Lady’. Walters’ soaring trumpet takes the lead, conducting the 11 piece band along with a catchy hook, brought to a head by the excellent Richard Foote on trombone.

Implicate Order, as the press release explains, sees Walters combining spiritual and eastern jazz moods with West African rhythms and a fusion of electronics. It features frequent collaborators and close musical friends like Rebecca Nash, Ed Cawthorne, Aidan Shepherd and Sam Healy, to name a few. 

The five-song record drops on January 29th via D.O.T Records. Pre-order here.

Keeping absolutely everything crossed here’s hoping the label launch at the London’s Jazz Cafe, on January 26th will go-ahead. 


1.The Underdog

2. Volta Region

3. Be Seeing You

4. Diminishing Returns

5. Implicate Order

The Players:

Nick Walters: trumpet, electronics, compositions

Rebecca Nash: piano

Sam Healey: alto sax

Ed Cawthorne: tenor sax, flute, piccolo

Richard Foote: trombone

Ben Kelly: sousaphone

Anton Hunter: guitar

Aidan Shepherd: accordion

Paul Michael: bass guitar

Kodjovi Kush: percussion

Jim Molyneux: drums

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply