Leaving Records announces debut album from Maral

Twistedsoul - Maral.

Los Angeles-based Iranian-American producer and DJ Maral will release her debut album, Push via Leaving Records next month.

A powerful and genre-boundary pushing album, Push knits together experimental electronic, Iranian classical music and folk samples. The 15-track LP also draws influences from punk and dub which are reinforced by intriguing guest spots from dub legend Lee “Scratch” Perry and Penny Rimbaud, co-founder of Anarcho-Punk band Crass.

“I try to incorporate the philosophy behind Iranian classical music, the importance of improvisation, by letting my samples play around with each other until they become friends. And if they click, that makes a good song,” says Maral.

As well as announcing the record she’s also shared two tracks, ‘Dashti’ and ‘Sweet Thing’.

Listen above, head here to find out more and check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Kerman Wobble
2. Protect U (feat. Lee “Scratch” Perry)
3. Push
4. Dashti
5. Bushehr
6. Sweet Thing
7. No Type
8. Aziz-E-Man
9. Jadoo
10. Sweet vs. Heavy
11. Let the Distortion Sing
12. Vortex in Love
13. Lita’s Song
14. They Not They (feat. Penny Rimbaud)
15. Salam

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply