Makaya McCraven announces new album Universal Beings E&F Sides

Get excited folks as Chicago-based drummer/producer Makaya McCraven has a new album incoming via International Anthem. 

The new project titled ‘Universal Beings E&F Sides’ is a companion piece to his critically-acclaimed 2018 release Universal Beings.

Recorded during the original sessions for the album, McCraven created fourteen pieces of organic beat music as a soundtrack to the Universal Beings documentary film.

Directed by Mark Pallman, the 26-minute documentary, follows Makaya to Los Angeles, Chicago, London and New York City for a behind the scenes look into the making of the artists breakthrough album, taking the viewer through the story of Makaya’s life, his process and the community of musicians that helped bring this project to life. 

To give us a little taste of what’s to come, listen to the lead track ‘Mak Attack’ above.

The Universal Beings documentary and Universal Beings E&F Sides LP will be released this July 31st. Pre-order here.


1. Everybody Cool
2. Half Steppin’
3. Mak Attack
4. The Hunt
5. Beat Science
6. Dadada
7. Isms
8. Traveling Space
9. Kings and Queens
10. The Loneliness
11. Her Name
12. Universal Beings pt 2
13. Butterss Fly
14. The Way Home


CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply