Błoto share lead track from forthcoming debut album, Erozje

Twistedsoul - Błoto.
Photo by O.Bodnaruś.

Polish jazz / instrumental hip-hop quartet Błoto are releasing their debut album, Erozje, this April via Astigmatic Records.

The group consist of musicians from EABS including Marek Pędziwiatr aka Latarnik (keyboards / synthesizers), Paweł Stachowiak aka Wuja HZG (bass), Marcin Rak aka Cancer G (drums), and Olaf Węgier aka Książę Saxonii (tenor saxophone).

Part jazz, part hip-hop, part beats, the ten tracks that make up the album were created late in August 2018 as a result of collective improvisation between the quartet at Grzegorz Skawiński’s Maska Studio in Gdańsk.

According to the press release: “The music is deeply rooted in brutal hip-hop grooves, referring quite loosely to the sound of the 90s. Dirty and uncompromising, this music’s strength lies in the drums and bass. Radical in a sense, it also captures the atmosphere of the times in which it is created. The times of distinct social divisions, hate speech, growing nationalism, police brutality, nepotism, political deals and the dismantling of legal state structures. All this is happening before our eyes. Our soil is eroding right now.”

Today we’re sharing ‘Czarne ziemie’ the first glimpse off the upcoming record. Sleazy and fiery in its texture, the track brings together rapid fire rhythm, off-kilter piano keys, neck-snapping bass and free flowing sax lines.

Stream the track above and check out the album artwork and tracklisting below.


1. Kaluże
2. Mady
3. Czarnoziemy
4. Bagna
5. Czarne ziemie
6. Rędziny
7. Bielice
8. Ziemie zdegradowane przez człowieka
9. Glina
10. Gleby brunatne

Erozje is out 24/04 via Astigmatic Records. Pre-order from Bandcamp.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply