Hear AuB’s new track ‘Not Jazz’ from forthcoming self-titled LP

London based quartet AuB set to unveil debut album.

We’re excited to today bring you ‘Not Jazz’, which is the debut single by London based quartet AuB. It’s taken from their forthcoming self-titled LP, due to be released in May via Edition Records.

The quartet was formed by saxophonists, Tom Barford and Alex Hitchcock, who together with bassist Fergus Ireland and drummer James Maddren melds contemporary Jazz sounds, with an adventurous and risk-taking spirit and a degree of unpredictability, nuance and intense improvisation.

For Barford, the focus on AuB follows the release of his highly successful solo release, Bloomer, in 2018. As he explains: “I’m really excited to be developing my relationship with Edition Records with the release of AuB’s debut album. I’ve always admired Alex’s playing and writing so to join forces for this next venture is a real treat. And of course, it’s always incredibly inspiring to play with Ferg Ireland and James Maddren.”

For Hitchcock, this project brings new possibilities; “I have so much fun playing in this band, continually being inspired and surprised by Tom, James, and Ferg. I’m looking forward to deepening my musical relationship with Tom under the guidance of Edition Records, and to exploring the new sounds and textures, we can find through adventurous collaborative writing.”

The record’s lead track ‘Not Jazz’ is a tantalizing taste of what’s to come. Soundtracked by Barford’s and Hicthcocks contrasting yet harmonious styles both saxophonists impress throughout while Ireland’s rich bass tones and Maddren’s brilliant drumming also catch the ear.

Check out the tracklisting and artwork below and pre-order your copy here.

London based quartet AuB set to share debut album.


1. Not Jazz
2. Valencia
3. Calvados
4. Rufio
5. Ice Man
6. Dual Reality
7. Doggerland
8. Groundhog Tuesday

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply