Shabaka Hutchings and The Ancestors announce new album We Are Sent Here By History

Shabaka & The Ancestors will make their Impulse! debut with the band’s sophomore album We Are Sent Here By History.

Shabaka & The Ancestors will make their impulse! Records debut on this March with their second studio album We Are Sent Here By History

The new 11-track project is conceptualized as an album-long sonic poem examining the present and future. You can check out the lyrics and poems written and performed by Siyabonga Mthembu (Brother Moves On) here.

Jazz saxophonist and clarinet player Shabaka Hutchings describes the LP as a “meditation on the fact of our coming extinction as a species. It is a reflection from the ruins, from the burning.”

Recorded last year in Johannesburg and Cape Town, led by Hutchings the Ancestors includes Mthunzi Mvubu on alto sax, Ariel Zamonsky on double bass, Gontse Makhene on percussion and Tumi Mogorosi on drums. Nduduzo Makhathini (Fender Rhodes), Thandi Ntuli (piano), Mandla Mlangeni (trumpet) also appear on selected tracks.

Ahead of the album’s release, the band has shared the lead single Go My Heart, Go To Heaven.

We Are Sent Here By History is released on 13th March. Head here to grab a copy, and check out the artwork and tracklisting below.

We Are Sent Here By History Shabaka and The Ancestors.


1. They Who Must Die
2. You’ve Been Called
3. Go My Heart, Go to Heaven
4. Behold, the Deceiver
5. Run, the Darkness Will Pass
6. The Coming of the Strange Ones
7. Beasts Too Spoke of Suffering
8. We Will Work (On Redefining Manhood)
9. ‘Til The Freedom Comes Home
10. Finally, the Man Cried
11. Teach Me How to Be Vulnerable


CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply