Sunda Arc announces debut album, Tides

Sunda Arc announce debut album.

Brothers Nick Smart and Jordan Smart aka Sunda Arc return with a brand new track ‘Hymn’, which follows in the footsteps of last years’ Flicker’ EP.

The release of their new track comes alongside the announcement of the duo’s debut album titled ‘Tides’.

Best known as crucial members of alternate-jazz trio Mammal Hands, their Sunda Arc project draws on techno, electronica, neo-classical and post-rock influences. Artist that inspire them includes Jon Hopkins, Rival Consoles, Moderat and Nils Frahm.

On the sound, they say, “Finding the ghost in the machine or blending the human elements of playing live is something we are always trying to explore in our work. Experimentation is a large part of our process and we tend to combine carefully composed material with chaotic ideas to find the balance between the two.”

‘Tides’ is out on 7th February 2020 via Gondwana Records.

Deftly balancing melody, with futuristic glitches that trickle through, ‘Hymn’, the lead track from the LP, uses Nick’s voice sampled and played back through a keyboard to create a human yet electronic feel.

Press the play button now to see what we’re talking about!



1.Another Life
2. Cluster
3. Dawn
4. Hymn
5. Secret Window
6. Everything at Once
7. Thessaloniki
8. Daemon
9. Collapse
10. Vespers

Tides is out on 07/02 via Gondwana Records. Pre-order from Bandcamp.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply