Junius Paul announces new album on International Anthem

Twistedsoul - Junius Paul

Chicago label International Anthem have announced their final release of 2019, a stunning and expansive double album by bassist/composer Junius Paul.

The 17-track album titled Ism lands on 22nd November and along with the news of the LP the label has also shared the project’s lead track ‘Asé’ appropriately kicking things off with an astonishing bass solo.

Although Ism is Paul’s debut album as a leader, he’s featured on numerous records including Makaya McCraven’s In The Moment, Highly Rare, Universal Beings and The Art Ensemble Of Chicago’s We Are On The Edge.

Junius Paul - Ism.

The album was co-produced by McCraven and features a whole host of talent including the likes of Justin Dillard (piano, organ, synth), Corey Wilkes (trumpet, shofar), Isaiah Spencer (drums, percussion), and Tomeka Reid (cello) to name a few.

The extensive liner notes come courtesy of Ayana Contreras who dives into Paul’s artistic roots and the construction of the album.

Head here for more info, stream the lead track ‘Asé’ and check out the artwork above and tracklist below.


1. You Are Free To Choose

2. Bowl Hit

3. View From The Moon

4. Baker’s Dozen

5. Asé

6. The One Who Endures

7. Spocky Chainsey Has Re-Emerged

8. Georgia

9. Twelve Eighteen West

10. Collant Denier

11. Paris

12. Tune No. 6

13. Sprouts

14. Fred Anderson and a Half

15. Ma and Dad

16. Two Minute Warning

17. Outro

Ism arrives on 22/11 via International Anthem. Pre-order from Bandcamp.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply