Da Lata announces first new album in 5 years, Birds

Twistedsoul - Da Lata.

Fresh from dropping a 3-track EP ‘Oba Lata’ earlier this year Da Lata have announced their highly anticipated fourth album ‘Birds’.

Five years on since thier last album and Da Lata the brainchild of Chris Franck and Patrick Forge, continue to carve out a special corner in the music world.

Da Lata’s story has wound it’s way through many chapters, anchored by the friendship between Franck and Forge whose input to the new album was somewhat minimal and remote, though files were exchanged and conversations had; ironically he describes ‘Birds’ as “’the most ‘Patrick Forge’ Da Lata album yet’.

The 10-track LP features long-time friends and collaborators Ernie McKone, Vanessa Freeman, Bembé Segué, Jason Yarde, Finn Peters, Mike Patto, Davide Giovannini, Tristan Banks and more.

Guest Playlist: Da Lata

In keeping with Da Lata’s family ethos many of the album sessions took plack at McKone’s Boogie Back studios with studio wizard Toni Econimides adding his expertise and creative input that has been essential to Da Lata over the years.

‘Birds’ is Da Lata’s first album since 2013’s ‘Fabiola’.

Da Lata return for the next installment with their first long-player in 5 years.

Stream ‘Thunder Of Silence’ a straight up funk excursion that is actually far from straight, the incredible Bembé Segué blesses the tune with a vocal and vocal arrangement that reaches stratospheric highs.

Head here to pre-order the album and check out the artwork above and the tracklisting below ahead of its 1st November release.



1. Mentality
2. Dakar
3.  Sway
4. Memory Man
5. To B
6. Lunar View
7. Thunder Of Silence
8. Oba Lata
9. Hollickwood Park
10. Birds



CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply