Rare Sun Ra Arkestra live performance released for the first time



“This planet is like a train station.”

London based label Lanquidity Records are releasing SUN RA ARKESTRA – LIVE IN KALISZ 1986 for the first time this October.

This rare recording of the ensemble’s little- known, first ever performance in Poland comes after five years of painstaking work from Lanquidity Records owners Adrian Magrys and Mateusz Surma.

Recorded at the 13th edition of the International Jazz Piano Festival the complete tape of the concert lay for almost three decades in a Kalisz basement collecting dust.

The ten-strong Arkestra band accompany Sun Ra includes Marshall Belford Allen (alto sax), John Gilmore ( tenor sax, Clarinet ) and Laurdine Kenneth “Pat” Patrick (baritone saxophone, alto saxophone, and Fender bass).


SUN RA ARKESTRA – LIVE IN KALISZ 1986 has been remastered from its original tapes by Marcin Cichy (Ninja Tune). The Deluxe double 180g vinyl version comes with a 4-page booklet. The LP is pressed using yellow vinyl limited to 250 copies and a black vinyl edition of 750.

Head here to pre-order a copy ahead of its 26th October release, check out the artwork above and the tracklisting below.

1. Infinity Drum Intro/Discipline 27-11
2. Children of the Sun
3. Improvised I
4. Yeah Man!
5. Improvised II
6. Untitled Blues
7. I’ll never be the same
8. Prelude to a Kiss
9. Mack the Knife
10. Outro
CF Smith

Write for Music Is My Sanctuary & Stereofox.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.