Yelfris Valdés to release second album, For The Ones…

Twistedsoul - Yelfris Valdés.London-based Afrocuban trumpet player Yelfris Valdés has revealed plans to release his second album For The Ones…, which will arrive on the 4th of October via the recently launched Música Macondo Records.

Across the album, Valdés connects with his Yoruba religion and its shamanic chants, subtly infusing those deeply personal elements with electronica and live instrumentation, creating a beautiful pulsating soundscape.

For this album, he says “I worked deeply and meticulously to find a more layered sound including a trance feeling with grounded rhythms.”

Recorded in London at Fish Market Studios, its 10-tracks were co-produced by Sonny Johns, with appearances including Al Macsween (electric piano), Sylvain Couesmes, (beatmaker, producer), Josh Barber (bass) Ernesto Marichales (percussion), Dario Congedo(drums) Carmen Martorell (spoken word) Modou Touré (vocals) and Simo Lagnawi (vocals, guembri, and qraqeb).

The lead track can be heard here, and the record is available for pre-order from Bandcamp.

Yelfris Valdés preps second album.


1. Canto Congo
2. Aceleyo Aña
3. Maktub
4. Red Eclipse
5. Carmen
6. Full Moon
7. For The One Still Living
8. Ancestry
9. After Sly
10. Worlds


CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply