Ronin Arkestra announces debut album, Sonkei

Twistedsoul - Ronin Arkestra

Ronin Arkesta are back with new music today. The band led by Mark de Clive-Lowe have just released an epic new track called Cosmic Collisions, and it’s brilliant.

Along with the new track, the Tokyo collective has also confirmed their debut album ‘Sonkei’ is coming September 27th via Alberts Favourites. Made up of members of Kyoto Jazz Sextet, WONK, Cro-Magnon, Root Soul, Sleepwalker, Sauce81, Kyoto Jazz Massive their music blends spiritual jazz and electronica.

Speaking about the supergroup, de Clive-Lowe says, “The members of Rōnin Arkestra are some of my favourite musicians anywhere, and the way we all come together in battle formation with so much heart and soul is making magic.”

According to the press release “the musical ‘stories’ contained in ‘Sonkei’ are each named after episodes from Samurai Champloo, an Edo-era, Japanese anime series following two ronin and their charge in search of the elusive “samurai who smells of sunflower.”

‘Sonkei’ follows their debut EP First Meeting which featured four tracks from their first recording session at Red Bull Studios.

If the album’s as good as this track, we’re in for a real treat!

Check out Cosmic Collisions below and if you want to grab the stunning limited edition vinyl, with artwork by Jonny Drop, head here.

Sonkei vinyl


1. Lullabies of the Lost
2. Onkochishin
3. Elegy of Entrapment
4. The Art of Altercation
5. Cosmic Collisions
6. Circle of Transmigration
7. Fallen Angel
8. Tempestuous Temperaments

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply