Akuphone collects experimental music from Japanese female artists on new LP, Seitō

Seitō: In the Beginning, Woman Was the Sun.

French independent label Akuphone is set to release a new compilation gathering Japanese female artists from various electronic and experimental music fields.

Seitō: In the Beginning, Woman Was the Sun channels a similar aesthetic to Tokyo Flashback a series highlighting the country’s electronic underground that was released by P.S.F. in the early 1990s and recently issued on vinyl for the first time, by Black Editions.

Glommy folk, haunted dub, deep house, electroacoustic, noisy folk, oriental psych and classic Japanese folk all fit splendidly together on this brilliant collection.

The compilation’s title refers to a cult feminist magazine printed in Japan in the 1910s.

Seitō: In the Beginning, Woman Was the Sun features seven tracks issued for the first time from Fuji-Yuki, Kiki Hitomi, Mikado Koko, Miki Yui , Kakushin Nishihara, Kuunatic and Keiko Higuchi.

Pre-order a copy here ahead of its 13th July release, listen to Mikado Koko’s ‘Fukagawa Bushi’ and check out the tracklist below.


1. Fuji Yuki – Blood Moon
2. Kiki Hitomi – Gain and Lose
3. Mikado Koko – Fukagawa Bushi
4. Miki Yui – Radicalv
5. Kakushin Nishihara – Palace of Deep Water
6. Kuunatic – Dewbow
7. Keiko Higuchi – Okesa Bushi

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply