Between The Cracks: 5 New Releases You Need To Hear

Between The Cracks: 5 New Releases You Need To Hear.

With so much good music coming through thick and fast, it’s easy for brand-new music to drop online and go overlooked. To help prevent this, we’ve picked five new releases you need to hear — stream music from Crewdson & Cevanne, Laurence Pike, Elliot Galvin, EABS, Untitled (Various Artist). If you like what you hear, hit the links and support the artists.


Crewdson & Cevanne – BRACE

On their debut album, Crewdson & Cevanne deftly fuse electronic-folk and avant-pop. Crewdson, known for his self-built electronic instruments, and Cevanne, an award-winning contemporary composer, blend their voices with “found sounds” across 12 tracks recorded on harp and DIY midi-controllers. Standouts include the opening track ‘Broadcaster Encounter’, ‘It’s So Easy’, ‘Butter Hill’, ‘Luxmore Flash’, and the beautiful closer ‘Sisa’s Well’. Highly recommended.



Laurence Pike – Holy Spring

Following last years brilliant album with Szun Waves and his solo album Australian percussionist/composer Laurence Pike has released his highly-anticipated follow-up, titled ‘Holy Spring’. The recording nicely blends improvised jazz and electronica. “I hope,” says Pike, “the listener is as excited – and at times confounded – by this music as I am.” Brilliant stuff!



Elliot Galvin Trio – Modern Times

Live-mixed and recorded direct to vinyl, each side in one continuous take; Modern Times is the most stripped back, honest and representative album by Elliot Galvin yet, reaffirming his formidable growing reputation as a true original. A peaceful protest against the overproduced, changing world we live in, Modern Times recaptures the beauty and magic of recorded sound, made using a technique not widely used since the pre-tape technology of the 1930s. In every sense, this is a classic album.



EABS – Slavic Sprits

EABS go in search of Slavic melancholy on their new album ‘Slavic Spirits’. Inspired by “deliberations of many musicians, but also historians, journalists, writers, and even psychotherapists” the jazz septet’s 7-track LP taps into national identity. Chock full of lush spiritual jazz compositions standouts from this brilliant album includes ‘Południca’, ‘Leszy’, and ‘Przywitanie Słońca’. The guys go from strength to strength and we can’t wait for their next musical step. For now though enjoy this stunning and essential record.



Untitled (Various Artist)

Released by Lonely Table, Anja Ngozi and The Vinyl Factory, Untitled drew on the Barbican’s major Basquiat retrospective in 2017; the project also explores themes around identity, representation and social inequality. The album features eighteen artists across seven collaborative tracks that span jazz, experimental electronic, post-punk, dub and ambient influences. The listening experience is sublime; from the gritty yet contemplative and cinematic opener courtesy of Wu-Lu, Lex Amor, and Ego Ella May through to the abstract exploration of Maxwell Owin and Coby Sey’s closing cut. The influence and creative spirit of Jean-Michel Basquiat reverberate loud and pride throughout this fantastic project.


CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply