Sarathy Korwar next up on The Leaf Label with his second album, More Arriving

Twistedsoul ~ Sarathy Korwar

London-based multi-instrumentalist Sarathy Korwar recent album My East Is Your West was a brilliant examination of the relationship between ‘Western’ and ‘Eastern’ music. On his new album, called More Arriving he delves deep into his experience of being an Indian in a divided Britain.

Speaking about the album Korwar says: “This is not necessarily a record of unity; it is an honest reflection of my experience of being an Indian in Britain, and as such is a leap forward from his previous releases, incorporating rappers from Mumbai and New Delhi, spoken word and his own Indian classical and jazz performances. More Arriving is a record born of confrontation; one for our confrontational times.”

Recorded over two years in the UK and India, the 8-track project tips its hat “to the new India of the Mumbai hip-hop kids, as well as identifying with London’s cultural diversity.”

Helping Kowar deliver his honest and heartfelt message the album features rappers MC Mawali, Prabh Deep and Delhi Sultanate, as well as spoken word artists Zia Ahmed, Deepak Unnikrishnan and frequent collaborator Tamar Osborn to name a few.

Check out the lead track ‘Mumbay’ where you’ll hear MC Mawali’s powerful Hindi/Marathi flow perfectly weaved together with Osborn’s and Korwar’s coruscating rhythms. “For me, Korwar explains the song is a love letter to the city whilst also recognising the duality of the city and its name; it’s about being caught between two opposing narratives and trying to navigate a path for oneself.”

Enjoy the video above and look out for the new album which is out July 26th via The Leaf Label.


1. Mumbay (ft. MC Mawali)
2. Jallaad
3. Coolie (ft. Delhi Sultanate & Prabh Deep)
4. Bol (ft. Zia Ahmed & Aditya Prakash)
5. Mango (ft. Zia Ahmed)
6. City of Words (ft. TRAP POJU & Mirande)
7. Good Ol’ Vilayati (ft. Mirande)
8. Pravasis (ft. Deepak Unnikrishnan)


More Arriving lands on 26/07 via The Leaf Label. Buy from Bandcamp.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply